View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:22 pm

beginners guide to coding nodes? 

Post beginners guide to coding nodes?
I may have a pretty lofty goal here. I'm designing my own modern system and I want to make it very easy to keep track of combat rolls. First problem, I have zero coding experience. I flirted with HTML 10 years ago but it's all gone.

Can anyone direct me to a sort of beginners guide to writing Nodes? I tried searching this forum but it claims node/nodes is too common a word.

When all is said and done, I want to have a node that lets you fill in all the variables (variables that won't change often), and just click 'shoot gun X'. The node would have all the info included, and also subtract the appropriate amount of ammunition from your weapon. If I wanted to get fancy, I could aim for buttons that would do single shot, burst, automatic, etc.

I have no idea what the limitations of python or XML are. Am I aiming too high?

Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:21 am

Post Re: beginners guide to coding nodes?
Aiming too high? Not at all.

In fact there's been some recent work on OpenRPG 1.8.1 (developer version) which is designed to try and make this sort of thing possible. And what's more I'd be willing to do more work to make anything you want workable and easier to figure out if it doesn't work. Basically I'd like to get to a position where OpenRPG is able to do precisely what you are asking of it.

I am playing D&D 3.5 so a lot of the coding I've added gives a wink to how that system operates but it's all supposed to be very generic. Traipse (the fork) has also had some work in this area, although I would claim it has less.