View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:09 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Can't load my maps 
Author Message

Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:29 am
Posts: 3
Post Can't load my maps
I spent a long time working on a series of maps, I saved them all... but when I load them none of the whiteboard comes up... I looked at the sticky above, but my map has no text in it.


Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:32 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:29 am
Posts: 3
Post Re: Can't load my maps
Funny enough, I can pass my maps on to a player, make them GM and THEY can load it...


Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:53 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:16 pm
Posts: 89
Post Re: Can't load my maps
Are you getting a crash report ?

Are you hosting the image on a website like image shack ?

Hosting images online usually gets rid of these problems.


Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:25 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:37 am
Posts: 335
Post Re: Can't load my maps
What's the difference between that player's version of OpenRPG and yours?
Can you upload the file so we can see it or try to load it?


Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:36 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:29 am
Posts: 3
Post Re: Can't load my maps
They are using traipse for one... I was getting a message about mimetype not being a known thing. I got around it by using a background image instead of my own crude hand drawn maps. Problem averted.

Code:
Traceback <most recent call last>:
File "C:\users\Public\OpenRPG\orpg\mapper\map.py", line 734, in takexml
self.layers[name].layerTakeDOM<c>
File "C:\Users\Public\OpenRPG\orpg\mapper\background.py", line 279, in layerTakeDOM
<imgtype, j> = mimetypes.guess_type<filename[1]>
NameError: global name 'mimetypes' is not defined


Thats the error it gives


Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:35 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:37 am
Posts: 335
Post Re: Can't load my maps
Hm. I wonder if that was a problem of incompatible Python and/or wxPython versions.


Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:53 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:30 pm
Posts: 14
Post Re: Can't load my maps
My friends and I run games in OpenRPG and one of myfriends, the GM, makes many maps beforehand and saves them to his computer. However, when he tries to load them up later, whether online or just in his map area later to modify them, they do not appear. we have lost many hours of work in this way... there is one map that will come up when he loads it, and all of us can see it when he does, but all others fail, with no error message.
it just does nothing.


Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:20 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:16 pm
Posts: 89
Post Re: Can't load my maps
Is he loading his images off his pc or hosting them on a online?

If he's loading them off his pc then elements is them may disappear after a couple of days.

When you load something off your pc it is held in a temp image server, which clears itself after a certain amount of time (usually several day but it depends on how many images are being hosted ). So if he saved a map using these temp elements then after a few days it will be useless.

One thing to do is for him to build his map as normal then save as jpg then upload that to an online host, then link to that.

The other thing to do is to host all the map elements online and use them to build the map then save it but this is much more time consuming. ( but you do end up with a library of stable images online that he can pull from. )


If he's loading his images from online and is having problems then thats something else that needs to be addressed.


Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:40 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:30 pm
Posts: 14
Post Re: Can't load my maps
Alright, we will now try the online image hosting. another question i have pertains to why new players joining a room cannot see things that were placed on the map before they joined. this includes both whiteboard object and miniatures.


Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:04 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:16 pm
Posts: 89
Post Re: Can't load my maps
If people joining the room can't see things previously on the map then something is definitely screwy.

I've never had this problem. ( but I haven't had a gaming session in a couple of months, could be this is a recent problem in the image server)

Not really sure what the solution would be.

Are you all using the same version of openrpg? Is anyone using a really old version?


Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:34 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.