View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:16 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 Traipse is working (even in Windows 7) 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:54 am
Posts: 18
Post Traipse is working (even in Windows 7)
This post ist more a combination of relatively unrealted topics. And since "varius" or something like that sounds kind of stupid, I tought "what's the most unlikly Subject in this Forum"? Here it is.

Here are the things that crossed my mind or my way, when I was trying to set up an OpenRPG Traipse Server on my Laptop:
1) On this page, the download links for Traipse are broken:
http://www.rpgobjects.com/index.php?c=orpg&m=getorpg_t
They both go to a special 404 Error Page
I had to use google to find a download page.

2)Apperently there are Problems (crashes) with the recommended Python or wxPython 64-bit Versions when using them on a Windows 7 64-bit. I don't have a link but could get one from the player that reported me the issues.
The 32-bit Version seem to function properly.

3)I have (succesfully) tried to set up a temporary http-Imageserver and OpenRPG server on my computer. We haven't run a single session yet, but a final test along the internet went well.
As soon as we have played (and if it doesn't end in a total disaster due to server-fail): Is there interest in a guide for setting up an (Image/Traipse) Server on your local computer, even with active Firewall? (especially using a hfs-server and ZoneAlarm)?

4)When writing this, Trapise suddenly refused to start. Apparently Win 7 had somehow mixed up the rights for the files badly (it's a NT, after all), but one "delete, reinstall and setup" later, it works again. So the old rule "uninstall, restart, reinstall" is still sometimes valid (even if I skipped the restart).

5)What I wanted to write as 4:
I was wondering that Traipse has not the hostname of the metaserver, but the name of a "metaservers.xml" in it's settings. A file that doesn't seem to exists. This also means that Traips isn't able to use the metaserver without manual modification.

That's it for now. Please keep on with your good work.


Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:42 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 712
Post Re: Traipse is working (even in Windows 7)
Christopher wrote:
This post ist more a combination of relatively unrealted topics. And since "varius" or something like that sounds kind of stupid, I tought "what's the most unlikly Subject in this Forum"? Here it is.

Here are the things that crossed my mind or my way, when I was trying to set up an OpenRPG Traipse Server on my Laptop:
1) On this page, the download links for Traipse are broken:
http://www.rpgobjects.com/index.php?c=orpg&m=getorpg_t
They both go to a special 404 Error Page
I had to use google to find a download page.
Known. Looks like I have to prod Chris about changing that page. I sent hi an email a long time ago.
Quote:
2)Apperently there are Problems (crashes) with the recommended Python or wxPython 64-bit Versions when using them on a Windows 7 64-bit. I don't have a link but could get one from the player that reported me the issues.
The 32-bit Version seem to function properly.
I don't have links to the 64 bit versions. Some crash info would be great.
Quote:
3)I have (succesfully) tried to set up a temporary http-Imageserver and OpenRPG server on my computer. We haven't run a single session yet, but a final test along the internet went well.
As soon as we have played (and if it doesn't end in a total disaster due to server-fail): Is there interest in a guide for setting up an (Image/Traipse) Server on your local computer, even with active Firewall? (especially using a hfs-server and ZoneAlarm)?
Check the user manual at: http://www.assembla.com/wiki/show/traipse
Quote:
4)When writing this, Trapise suddenly refused to start. Apparently Win 7 had somehow mixed up the rights for the files badly (it's a NT, after all), but one "delete, reinstall and setup" later, it works again. So the old rule "uninstall, restart, reinstall" is still sometimes valid (even if I skipped the restart).
Sure, but I don't recommend it because there is usually an easier way.
Quote:
5)What I wanted to write as 4:
I was wondering that Traipse has not the hostname of the metaserver, but the name of a "metaservers.xml" in it's settings. A file that doesn't seem to exists. This also means that Traips isn't able to use the metaserver without manual modification.
Known, check the known issues for the work around: http://www.assembla.com/wiki/show/traipse
Quote:
That's it for now. Please keep on with your good work.
Thanks!! I will.

_________________
I ate your Death Knell.
The Traipse Movement
Please show your support for Traipse OpenRPG http://www.facebook.com/MadMathLabs
Send me Traipse OpenRPG Ideas, Bugs, Complaints, Praises here: https://getsatisfaction.com/mml


Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:41 pm
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:54 am
Posts: 18
Post Re: Traipse is working (even in Windows 7)
Quote:
I don't have links to the 64 bit versions. Some crash info would be great.

You don't link them directly, but the pages you give here contain every version, including the 64-bit.
The player who reported it had a link, that confirmed that it was a "known issue", and even google knows nothing but problems when aksed for "wxpython 2.8.11 windows 7". I will try to narrow it down a little bit more.

to 3)
Quote:

I have some problems with that:
1. CherryPy doesn't work when using the drag-to-map (Imagesserver set to local, CerryPyRunning) so this features doesn't work for me
2. the CerryPy web-interface isn't working either (or i just keep getting the wrong port-number 8080)
3. hfs has a working web-interface that even allows upload, and the direct download of every hosted file.
4. hfs gives you some information about what is going on (wich ip is requesting which image), so you can see if it works and even how far the file transfer is for every conection
5. hfs doesn't require you to place the files or folders to any special place, while still protecting every file you do not want to be accesible.
6. You only cover port-forwarding and that only works for routers and firewalls that support this feature
7. You do not cover "having a external IP for your computer because you got a (DSL)-Modem or are forced to use PPPoE". I am online in two places: One with a (forced) PPPoE and one with a router that allows me to set up a PPPoE conection alongside the normal conection, but not Port Forwarding. And I am certain I am not the only one.
8. The Windows Vista and 7 Firewalls may be as anoying as a wrong configured ZoneAlarm and just shutting it down is never a good idea (especially when all you need to do is setting the port to 80 and lowering the settings to medium ;) )


Fri Aug 20, 2010 9:23 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.