View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:36 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Cannot get it running 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:48 am
Posts: 8
Post Cannot get it running
My brother is running windows 7. He made the same mistake I did earlier and installed python 2.7. We thought this would be easy to fix. We uninstalled python 2.7 and attempted to reinstall 2.5. Something went wrong. We cannot even get wxpython to recognize that the new python exists. We tried unistalling and reinstalling several times. Out of desperation even we tried taking a working python 2.5 and just copying it to his hard drive. We cannot seem to get anything to work. Please advise.


Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:11 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 712
Post Re: Cannot get it running
The easiest thing to do would be to

  • Go here: http://www.knowledgearcana.com/download-traipse
  • Download the Python and wxPython downloads. Make sure you are getting them for the correct architecture (32bit or 64bit).
  • Install Python ... the installation will find previous installs and remove/overwrite them.
  • Restart your computer. You need to do this so your operating system's registry is updated to recognize Python.
  • Install wxPython. Again, the installation process will find previous installs and remove/overwrite them.

After that you should be good to go.

_________________
I ate your Death Knell.
The Traipse Movement
Please show your support for Traipse OpenRPG http://www.facebook.com/MadMathLabs
Send me Traipse OpenRPG Ideas, Bugs, Complaints, Praises here: https://getsatisfaction.com/mml


Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:33 am
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:05 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: Cannot get it running
Hello I am the brother that he was talking about. I was able to get python and wxpython installed and now as I am trying to get traipse set up I get the message in the python box that says
WindowsError: [Error 5] Access is denied: ' C:\\Windows\\system32\\System'

can you help me?


Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:11 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 712
Post Re: Cannot get it running
That is a permissions error. Where do you have the Traipse folder that was extracted from the downloaded .ZIP? If you put it in 'Program Files' it may not work because of permissions.

edit: Also .. if you have already attempted to run setup.py, remove the 'System' sub folders the setup utility creates in the Traipse folder.

_________________
I ate your Death Knell.
The Traipse Movement
Please show your support for Traipse OpenRPG http://www.facebook.com/MadMathLabs
Send me Traipse OpenRPG Ideas, Bugs, Complaints, Praises here: https://getsatisfaction.com/mml


Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:27 pm
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:05 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: Cannot get it running
I extracted the .zip to the desktop. I do not see any sub folder other than Mercurial. But just in case I went ahead and deleted the one that was on my desktop and re-extracted from the original .zip. Is there a better place to put it?


Sat Jul 16, 2011 6:25 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 712
Post Re: Cannot get it running
That should be ok. As long as it is not in the Program Files folder.

I see the 'system32' folder in your error post. Do you have a 64bit Windows install? If so ... did you install the 64bit Python and wxPython? The reason I ask: if I am not mistaken, a system32 folder is created on 64bit OSs for backwards compatibility.

_________________
I ate your Death Knell.
The Traipse Movement
Please show your support for Traipse OpenRPG http://www.facebook.com/MadMathLabs
Send me Traipse OpenRPG Ideas, Bugs, Complaints, Praises here: https://getsatisfaction.com/mml


Sat Jul 16, 2011 7:09 pm
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:05 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: Cannot get it running
Yes, I do have a 64bit install of windows. and I did get the 64bit Python (python-2.6.5.amd64) and the 64 wxpython (wxPython2.8-win64-unicode-2.8.10.1-py26). if that helps..


Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:01 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 712
Post Re: Cannot get it running
Tituscline wrote:
Yes, I do have a 64bit install of windows. and I did get the 64bit Python (python-2.6.5.amd64) and the 64 wxpython (wxPython2.8-win64-unicode-2.8.10.1-py26). if that helps..


Yes it does. And you are still getting the error? If so, I think you may be making a simple mistake somewhere. Happens all the time. Would you like to contact me via IM?

_________________
I ate your Death Knell.
The Traipse Movement
Please show your support for Traipse OpenRPG http://www.facebook.com/MadMathLabs
Send me Traipse OpenRPG Ideas, Bugs, Complaints, Praises here: https://getsatisfaction.com/mml


Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:44 pm
Profile YIM WWW

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:05 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: Cannot get it running
Yes I think that that would probably help a lot if we could get together in that way. We would just need to figure out a time. What sort of IM do you use? I only have Skype... and can only use the chat on there as I don't have a microphone... lol titus.cline on skype.
I can probably get something set up if need by too.


Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:24 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 3:05 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: Cannot get it running
Thank you again so much for helping me get things going. I really really appreciate it!


Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:48 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.